Storyteller

“I was working part time in a five-and-dime
My boss was Mr. McGee
He told me several times that he didn’t like my kind
‘Cause I was a bit 2 leisurely

Seems that I was busy doing something close 2 nothing
But different than the day before
That’s when I saw her, Ooh, I saw her
She walked through the out door, out door

She wore a raspberry beret
The kind U find in a second hand store..”

Great lyrics. Funny too. Doing something close 2 nothing – a pithy take on work.

I’ve often wondered if artists experience the same work fatigue as ordinary people. J said that Prince used to do two concerts back to back and they were virtually identical. After seeing Iggy I read an article on his tour and the reporter wrote about a certain song and quoted Iggy saying to the crowd: “Nothing personal” – the same thing he said here after performing that song. A performance is rehearsed even it looks spontaneous. That’s all right – it can be work and art at the same time.

Leave a Reply

