It’s Only Rock’n’Roll

Robert Plant still has his wild hair. I watched a YouTube video of Alison Krauss and Plant singing “Black Dog” at the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival in 2008. He wasn’t simply going through the motions. Looked like he was enjoying himself. So different from the shirtless, tight-jeaned Led Zeppelin frontman. Less showy, but same intensity. Turned down the volume.

Lucky not to have lost his hair. It defined him as much as his voice did.

Popular music is great in being the soundtrack for our journey through life. I never liked Peter Gabriel, but every time I hear “Solsbury Hill”, especially the line: “My hear going boom boom boom”, I think back to my university years, and I get into a refresh mode. Or the first few bars of “Born to Run”. I think of John Steinback (don’t know why) and Sam Shepard (the American cowboy wandering the suburban wasteland).

Leave a Reply

